Meet the Team

Team

Leadership


Katie M. Edwards

Katie M. Edwards

Director, IVR Laboratory
Associate Professor, CYFS
katie.edwards@unl.edu

CURRICULUM VITAE

Biography
Mary Couture

Mary Couture

Lab Manager, IVR Laboratory mary.couture@unl.edu

Biography

Mary Couture


Mary Couture is a Lab Manager at the CYFS, providing leadership and administrative support to the Interpersonal Violence Research Laboratory. She supports internal lab operations through a wide variety of administrative functions. Mary is passionate about professional development. She is a member of University of Nebraska Office Professionals Association (UNOPA), UNL's University Association for Administrative Development (UAAD), Nebraska Educational Office Professional Association (NEOPA) and the National Association of Educational Office Professionals (NAEOP). Mary is currently studying at Grand Canyon University with plans to complete her Master of Business Administration and Master of Science in Leadership in the fall of 2022.

Joseph Gardella

Joseph Gardella

Postdoctoral Associate, IVR Laboratory
joseph.gardella@unl.edu

CURRICULUM VITAE

Biography

Joseph Gardella


Joseph Gardella is a mixed-methods community and applied social psychologist whose research focuses on better understanding individual and systemic causes of positive youth development in school settings, particularly with historically marginalized populations. His work focuses on developing, implementing and evaluating prevention and intervention programming and informing policy efforts, especially building structural interventions that increase opportunities to grow relationships and coach targeted skills. Gardella earned his Ph.D. in Community Research and Action from Vanderbilt University.


Victoria Mauer

Victoria Mauer

Faculty Affiliate, IVR Laboratory
victoria.mauer@unl.edu

CURRICULUM VITAE

Biography

Victoria Mauer


Victoria's work broadly focuses on prevention and intervention programming that seeks to prevent sexual and partner violence and promote positive youth development. Mauer uses both quantitative and qualitative methodologies to examine a various research topics, including support for survivors of sexual and partner violence, campus communities’ attitudes toward sexual and partner violence prevention programming, and the role significant figures in youths’ lives (e.g., non-parental adults, peers) play in fostering prevention efforts. Mauer earned her doctorate in community psychology and prevention science from the University of Virginia.

Emily Waterman

Emily Waterman

Faculty Affiliate, IVR Laboratory emily.waterman@unl.edu

CURRICULUM VITAE

Biography

Staff & Students


Madi Ahrlin

Madi Ahrlin

Research Staff, Rapid City Family Project
Llyod BigCrow Sr.

Llyod BigCrow Sr.

Programming & Research Staff, Rapid City Family Project
Alexa Callahan

Alexa Callahan

Research Associate
Emily Camp

Emily Camp

Graduate Research Associate
emily.camp@huskers.unl.edu

Nia Clark

Nia Clark

Consultant, PRYSHM Project


Megan Conley

Megan Conley

Research Associate
Professional Profile

Sloane Cornelius

Sloane Cornelius

Undergraduate Research Associate
scornelius2@unl.edu

Marcey Edwards

Marcey Edwards

Programming & Research Staff, Rapid City Family Project
Karissa Ellis

Karissa Ellis

Research Staff, Rapid City Family Project
Naomi Even-Aberle

Naomi Even-Aberle

Assistant to the Project Coordinator, Youth VIP Project & Rapid City Family Project
neven-aberle2@unl.edu


Alexander Farquhar-Leicester

Alexander Farquhar-Leicester

Graduate Research Associate
afarquharleicester@huskers.unl.edu

Eliot Gray

Eliot Gray

Undergraduate Research Associate
egray8@huskers.unl.edu

Lauren Hargreaves

Lauren Hargreaves

Undergraduate Research Associate
lhargreaves3@huskers.unl.edu

Ramona Herrington

Ramona Herrington

Cultural Outreach Manager, Rapid City Family Project & Youth VIP Project
rherrington2@unl.edu

Skyler Hopfauf

Skyler Hopfauf

Project Coordinator, Youth VIP Project & Rapid City Family Project
shopfauf3@unl.edu


Merle Huff

Merle Huff

Graduate Research Associate
mhuff8@huskers.unl.edu

Kristen Hunt

Kristen Hunt

Graduate Research Associate
kristen.hunt@huskers.unl.edu

Leon Leader Charge

Leon Leader Charge

Consultant (Prevention Specialist, Research Associate), Rapid City Family Project
Stephanie Lim

Stephanie Lim

Graduate Research Associate
stephanie.lim@huskers.unl.edu

Wamblee Looking Horse

Wamblee Looking Horse

Programming & Research Staff, Rapid City Family Project

Johnny OKeefe

Johnny OKeefe

Undergraduate Research Associate
johnathan.okeeffe@huskers.unl.edu

Tifanie Petro

Tifanie Petro

Programming Staff, Rapid City Family Project
Roger Schrader

Roger Schrader

Research Staff
Faculty Profile

Emma Spies

Emma Spies

Research Staff, Rapid City Family Project
Caroline Spitz

Caroline Spitz

Graduate Research Associate
cspitz2@huskers.unl.edu


Brandi Tonkel

Brandi Tonkel

Research Staff, Rapid City Family Project
Jill Trimble

Jill Trimble

Research Staff
Faculty Profile

Preciouse Trujillo

Preciouse Trujillo

Research Staff, Rapid City Family Project
ptrujillo9@unl.edu

Alex Van Voorhis

Alex Van Voorhis

Research Staff, Journey to Thrive Project
Kristi Vander Waal

Kristi Vander Waal

Project Coordinator, Journey to Thrive Project

Lab Application


We are now recruiting graduate and undergraduate students to join the lab.

To be considered, students must complete the application (below), and send it along with a resume/CV and cover letter, to our lab manager, Mary Couture at mary.couture@unl.edu.


Download Application